Leave a comment

The Weekend

I have completed the week and I am back at home for the weekend. It has been a strange experience for me this past week. I have felt such a void with Mama being gone. There are so many thoughts that I have of her each day and especially in the last year when she has been so sick. I am always thinking about going to see her, what she might or might not need, what could I do for her on the weekend that might make her feel better. Now I feel lost. My husband and I were making plans today and I told him that I felt like I needed to work in going to see Mama but there will be no more going to see Mama now.

I am very thankful for the time I had wih Mama. And I am very thankful that she was my mother. I know I am who I am today because of her and Daddy. They were both great parents. I learned valuable lessons from them both. My brother and I were talking about them the other day and we were saying to each other how we felt we had the perfect parents for us. We would not have changed any thing.

So, I know there is more days of adjustment to come. And I know that life is going to be so different now. I am almost 50 but I still feel as though I am a child who has lost her parents and there is such a void there. I do have my husband (wonderful friend and companion), my brother, my sister, nieces, nephews, aunts, uncles, cousins and friends. God has been good to me and I know that He will continue to bless me as long as I have faith in Him. Brighter days will be ahead.

Leave a Reply

