1 Comment

… but words will never hurt me.

When I was a child and other children would say mean things to me I would say, “Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me.” I guess that is meant to help children be strong and not let words or thoughts of others rule their life.

 

As I have gotten older I have started to think about this and have realized that it is not true at all. Sticks and stones do break bones and bones can heal but words that are spoken at the wrong time or in the wrong way can and do hurt and sometimes there is no healing.

 

The Bible tells us that the power of life and death is in the tongue. How many times do we say things to people that discourage them? Maybe more than we realize.

 

Negative words bring negative feelings to the one delivering them and the one receiving them as do positive words bring positive feelings to the one delivering and the one receiving.

 

Although we are taught to not take words so seriously it something that the Bible intended to be taken seriously. God spoke into existence this entire world and all that is in it. Words are powerful.

 

I remember a time when I was wearing a certain blouse and pants that I really liked. I wore this outfit to work many times. One day after work I went to Mama’s to see her and my niece was there. She was a young child and didn’t mean any harm in what she was saying but she said, “You wore those purple pants to work? Oh, come on, Carla!”  And even though she was a small child and I was an adult and I had been taught words can never hurt me, I never wore that outfit again. Words are very powerful.

 

Maybe we should teach our children and ourselves the value of words and remember that words spoken at the wrong time or with the wrong intent can hurt and hurt for a long time.

 

Yes, sticks and stones can break my bones and words can hurt me; but I choose to speak only positive, joy and faith filled words that bring healing and comfort to all those around. Who knows, with a lot of good words going around maybe the bad words can’t hurt us.

One comment on “… but words will never hurt me.

  1. Wow!! Ok, I forgive you for not writing posts everyday! The quality of your writing is what keeps me coming back to your blog – not the quanity of posts. Wow! This post is so well thought out and poignant. Thank you so much for sharing, and I hope anyone who reads this takes your words to heart! I’m glad to be considered a friend of yours!!

Leave a Reply

