Leave a comment

Memories…

Daddy's Marker and Arrangement
I lost my father in August of 2007. I have thought many times that I wouldn’t be able to stand loosing a parent. I have felt sorry for those I knew who had lost a parent and never wanted to go through it myself. But, my father was sick for a while and he was tired and it was time to take a rest.

I miss him so much. He was a lot of fun to be around. He and I had a silly way of getting tickled about something and laughing about it when nobody else would think it was funny. Since he passed away there have been so many things that I have wanted to share with him because I know that he would laugh with me.

I don’t want to be sad when I remember him because there were so many good memories created throughout my life that I feel like it would be wrong to let one sad moment over shadow and block them out. I know that he would want be to be happy and that keeps me thinking of the good times and the times that make me smile.

I have lost many members of my family. My maternal grandmother and grandfather, my paternal grandmother and grandfather, two of my aunts (mama’s sisters), my uncle (mama’s brother) only 10 years older than me and very close to us, great aunts and uncles that I grew up with, my great grandmother, my mother-in-law and her sister, and my husbands cousin that was a real close friend of mine. Loosing each of these people was hard and took some time to deal with but the loss of my father has been the hardest ever to deal with. And as I do with Daddy I do with all of these family members, I remember the things that make me smile.

God gave us life and He understands death. It is a hard part of living but oh how wonderful it will be when we are reunited with these loved ones and there is no more sadness nor trouble nor sickness and, the greatest of all, no more death. Oh what a glorious day! I am looking forward to that.

Leave a Reply

