1 Comment

Remembering my childhood…

Yesterday my husband and I went riding through the community where I grew up. My grandmother owned two houses next door to each other when I was a child and most of my adult life too. The oldest house has since been torn down. But the newer house is still there with new occupants. This is the hardest part for me when I go through the “mill village”. It is sad to see the houses and places where I grew up and know that they belong to people that I don’t know
I decided to take some pictures.

.ChMamaBea
This church is behind my grandmother’s house and is where my great grandmother attended church. I have been there with her several times and I have great memories of going to church with her.

MamaBea2
Grandmother’s house.
grandmasHouse
Great Grandmother’s house. This house has a porch that goes all the way around the house. It always seemed so sunny and breezy on that porch when I was a child.

There were many days in my youth spent going from my grandmother’s house to my great grandmother’s house because they lived on the same street. My great grandmother lived about two houses down from my grandmother. And I lived, with my parents, in the older house that belonged to my grandmother (the one that has since been torn down). My house was between my grandmother and my great grandmother. All of us children walked a trail in the grass from house to house.

My great grandmother was a short woman. She was only about 4 feet and maybe 2 or 3 inches. By the time I was twelve I was taller than her. That used to be funny to me. She would stand in front of me and her head would only come to my chest.

She wasn’t a very old woman because my grandmother had married when she was 13 and had my mother when she was 16 and my mother had me when she was 18. So, my great grandmother was only in her 50’s. But she looked older because of the way she fixed her hair. She didn’t believe in having her hair cut so it was really long and gray. It went down to her waist. She would braid it into two braids and wrap the braids around each other and make a bun in the back and put a hairnet over them. I used to love to watch her fix her hair. I learned to braid from watching her.

She also cooked teacakes. She would put them in a bowl and cover them with a cloth. When I would come in from playing she would give me one and some Kool-Aid. That was so much fun. It is a great memory.

Also, because she was so short she had bricks located all around the house that she could stand on and reach things better. She had taken a plain red brick and covered it with corduroy. She had one in front of the stove and sink. That somehow amazed me when I was a child. And I was taller than her so I didn’t need to stand on the brick.

She had a sewing machine that she worked with her feet to sew. It wasn’t electric at all. And a washing machine that had wringers on it. I used to love to put the clothes trough the wringer.

My grandmother and my great grandmother worked hard all their lives. They worked in the yards and house and fields. They also worked at guiding the children in the right direction. I am so thankful that I had them in my live. I have many values and believes that I know were an influence from them. 

I would like for anyone reading this to know that I honored all my grand parents. This post is a way for me to give a testimony to their raising and the way they lived. I was blessed to have 2 grandfathers, 2 grandmothers, a great grandmother and a step great grandfather still living for a good portion of my live. I also had numerous aunts, uncles, great aunts and great uncles and cousins. This was all in addition to my family of 1 mother, 1 father, 1 bother and 1 sister. I married into a family that has always treated me like I had always been a member of their family.

So, yes, remembering my childhood invokes within me deep praises of thanks to God for placing me with the wonderful family that I have. And allowing me to be lead to see the beautiful side of life.

One comment on “Remembering my childhood…

  1. Aww! What a great post!! Those houses are being kept up nicely. It’s nice that you can go by and re-live those memories! It must have been a wonderful childhood that made you the wonderful person you are now!!

Leave a Reply

